Why you should code as if you were preparing breakfast for your partner

I am the typical engineering, so I am not creative AT ALL! and when I started learning web programming one of the first things that came into my mind was: ‘Why to bother learning front-end at all? Afterwards, I will try to land a job in back-end anyways.’

Now that I am halfway into the curriculum and after doing a big project on Ruby, I realised that programming is like preparing a meal for your partner, especially that breakfast in the morning where she/he is feeling lazy, and you want to surprise them!

Like cooking

When you are preparing a meal for yourself, you don’t need to worry that much about the presentation, and you make sure it tastes good enough. On the other hand, preparing a meal for your partner can be tricky since you will worry about all the details and the outcome: 'Is it warm enough? Is it tasty? Will they like it? ’ are just one fo the things that you are going to ask yourself once you finish cooking.

Just like CSS and HTML when coding using a language like Ruby, you should not worry about the result, but wouldn’t it be nice if the outcome you give is ‘warm enough, tasty enough and they will like it’?. You can do astonishing things just using the coding languages that I wrote in here, but the sky is the limit when using additional ones.

A big meal

Imagine that you are having dinner with your partner’s parents and you decide to try a recipe you saw on a cooking show. The meal you are preparing is complicated, and you can taste only the pieces that make it. Are you going to eat it at the end? Or are you going to try out your food by bits to see how it’s going?