What are you currently writing?

I’m working on an autobiographical piece, a piece titled “How I Started Hacking” – I thought it might interest the community to know how one of the Hacker Noon devs got their start, how I ended up where I am today. I’m also working on a Hacker Noon 2.0 development update, coming soon! This update will largely focus on the work I’ve done on the CDN, and SSO.

What are you writing right now?

2 Likes

I’ve been writing a fantasy novel for the past two decades…It’s still in the research/world building phase though. It’s something I check in on every now and then, and I figure I’ll get around writing it when I’m in my golden years…

3 Likes

I wish there was a super-like button. This is so cool! I like to write short stories, now and then, and those always require some “background” writing, building up the characters and the world around them in my head. But I’ve never approached something so ambitious.

Can you share any details about the novel? Any juicy tidbits to keep us going while we wait? :smile: Are we talking high fantasy, like Lord of the Rings, or something more like the Kingkiller Chronicles?

1 Like

Definitely High Fantasy. I grew up reading the likes of Robert Jordan, David Eddings, Ursula LeGuin, Terry Goodkind, Tolkien, George R.R. Martin (with a splash of Stephen King), so the long form series is in the bloodstream.

So far the journey follows two young warriors (best friends and rivals), who discover there’s an entire world outside of a homeland they thought was the entire world because of their geographically remote location untouched by the outside influences. Their paths diverge in two unique ways, and come back together, and diverge, and come back together. All the while, learning the ways of the larger world which changes them both culturally and spiritually, but both unique to the lands and the people they visit.

Definitely ambitious. Who knows if it’ll ever get finished. :wink:

1 Like