I'm Quincy Larson, the teacher who founded freeCodeCamp.org. Ask Me Anything July 25, 2019

Hey everybody, I’m Quincy Larson.

I was a 30-something teacher who learned to code and ultimately founded freeCodeCamp in 2014. I am now working on the nonprofit full-time to help expand these learning resources.

I’m doing an AMA here on Hacker Noon’s community forum. I’ll answer questions live at noon EST on Thursday, July 25. You can ask me questions in advance here on this thread, and heart other people’s questions to make sure I see them and answer them.

Click here to add this to Google calendar.

10 Likes

Hi Quincy,

I’ve heard you through the 100DaysOfCode. I’m so much interested in this free self-learning platform as it helps hundreds of developers enhance their programming capacity.
To the extent that I discovered FreeCodeCamp presently provides learning materials for web developers. Especially for developers who are using javascript. Are there possibilities/plans to scale up to practice coding other languages such as Java, go, Rust, etc?

Thanks

4 Likes

Who is your code camp targeted toward, and what should someone do to prepare themselves for one of your camps?

3 Likes

Hi @quincylarson,

Thank you for doing this.

One Silly Question: A lot of devs do not consider HTML to be a programming language. What do you think?

A Serious One: What is ‘The One Thing’ that you want FreeCodeCamp to achieve in the short run?

1 Like

Hi Quincy,

With the word “free” even in the name, where do you see the value in giving away high-quality learning resources essentially for free to your users, and what is your model on capturing some of that value back to sustain your organization?

Thanks for the AmA

2 Likes

Hi @quincylarson

Glad to chat with you here! Always amazed at your giant sized generous enterprise…

I am kind of curious about your general story and the process…

When you were developing the platform what were the challenges involved?