I'm a developer on Hacker Noon 2.0. Ask me anything!

Hi there! My name is Austin Pocus (like “hocus pocus”), and I’m a Full Stack Developer here at Hacker Noon. For the past couple months, I’ve been hacking away on Hacker Noon 2.0, and I’m itching to share more about the process, our decisions, our tooling, our architecture…basically anything and everything is fair game here. Ask me anything!

3 Likes

Hi Austin!

Can you give me some explanations of HackerNoon 2.0 tech stack? What would it use and where would it be hosted? (Perhaps something like Digital Ocean or Linode?)

Does your team go with new shiny stack (React, MongoDB, Node, etc)

Or the already proven stack? (Laravel, Rails, Postgre, etc)

Thanks!

2 Likes

Hi Nathan! I’d be happy to dive into the details of our stack: we’re using Firebase as a backend (if you can call it that – it’s more “serverless” than a “backend”), and React on the frontend. Hosting will be on Firebase, along with the database, authentication, and everything else Firebase provides.

We found that React is stable and well-supported at this point, with a wonderful ecosystem and community, so we’re willing to bet on it. :slight_smile: As for Firebase, they have an excellent service that takes care of a lot of backend and devops work that would normally go into a platform of this type and magnitude, so we can focus more on the frontend and the user experience, and creating an excellent experience for our community.