Best resources to learn programming?

My friend wants to learn to code, and I want to help him however I can, but it’s been a while since I’ve used tutorials geared towards complete beginners, and I’m not really aware of what’s out there anymore – can you point me to some solid resources? Paid or free, doesn’t matter. I’m just trying to find the best resources available. Where would you start as a complete beginner?

He’s very familiar with computers as a power user, but doesn’t know anything about writing code, if that helps. I should also mention that I told him if he should learn one thing, it’s Javascript (I know, it’s not the most elegant language, but it’s the language of the web and it will be necessary). I’m thinking he should learn Python as well, as it’s super-friendly to beginners and powerful enough to do cool things.

Thanks in advance!

3 Likes

He should start with Javascript. I have some data - will prepare/format and publish it there. When he’ll learn the basics - I can teach him on practical tasks that i’m doing in my "Coding school" project diary

3 Likes

Thanks Arthur! So what I’m really looking for is a resource that will teach him the basics when I’m not around. Once he learns those, the sky’s the limit. I can spend one day a week teaching him the basics myself, but he needs some good online resources or books that will help him learn during the rest of the week.

Do you know of any good resources for complete beginners? Ideally, something that teaches the concepts of variables, loops, conditionals, etc…like I said, he’s a total newbie when it comes to writing code.

quick reply:

5 Likes

Two decent resources.

5 Likes

Still un-processed, but can help: https://github.com/ChickenKyiv/awesome-dev-stuff/blob/master/docs/courses.md

1 Like

Great recommendation. Codecademy will give really good focus. They should certainly combine with the many tutorials available on youtube (however pick wisely)

2 Likes